Incrementing an index based of a condition

Hi,

I am pretty new to FHE and so my question may be naive. I am trying to convert the quick sort algorithm towards FHE equivalent using the concrete compiler. I’m struggling on this bit of code i want to adapt :

for j in range(low, high):
                if arr[j] <= pivot:
                    i += 1
                    arr[i], arr[j] = arr[j], arr[i]

I’ve adapted the if so it has no branching to be able to swap, but can’t find a way to do it for the incrementation of i. Below is a minimal code that reproduces the error I can’t figure out completely

@fhe.compiler({"array": "encrypted"})
def function(array):
    i = 0
    for j in range(0, len(array)):
        cmp = array[j] <= array[len(array) - 1]
        #i+=cmp 
        # or
        #i = (i+1) * cmp + i * (1 - cmp)
        tmp = array[i]
        array[i] = array[j] * cmp + array[i] * (1 - cmp)
        array[j] = array[j] * (1 - cmp) + tmp * cmp
    return array

This does compile, but if i do uncomment on of the i incrementation methods i get (end of traceback):

File “/home/nthsmn/Documents/tests/quicksort_circuit_chunked.py”, line 18, in function
tmp = array[i]
File “/home/nthsmn/.local/lib/python3.10/site-packages/concrete/fhe/tracing/tracer.py”, line 800, in getitem
raise ValueError(message)
ValueError: Tracer<output=EncryptedTensor<uint4, shape=(20,)>> cannot be indexed with Tracer<output=EncryptedScalar>

Does anyone have a clever way of fixing this ?

Thanks a lot !

The i value is a clear constant → not an encrypted value. During compilation the loops will be unrolled and all the values that i, j take will become clear constants for the compiler. You’ll get something like:

i = 0
j = 0
swap(array[j] <= array[len(array) - 1], array[j], array[j])
i = 0
j = 1
i = 0
j = 2
..etc..