ValueError when compiling

Hey! I am new to FHE so I want to excuse myself in advance in case I did sth really stupid here. I want to implement kernel ridge regression prediction using concrete numpy. The Ridge class in concrete ml is unfortunately not sufficient for my case.

After implementing a somewhat dummy example:

I get an error when compiling the np.dot part:
Constant array([[<concrete.numpy.tracing.tracer.Tracer object at 0x7f10f6600dc0>,
<concrete.numpy.tracing.tracer.Tracer object at 0x7f10f6605df0>,
<concrete.numpy.tracing.tracer.Tracer object at 0x7f10f658dd60>,
<concrete.numpy.tracing.tracer.Tracer object at 0x7f10f6594760>,
…
<concrete.numpy.tracing.tracer.Tracer object at 0x7f10f63ecbe0>]],
dtype=object) is not supported

The full error message is visible as a comment in the code.

I suppose the problem is in how the matrix K is constructed. But I am not sure what the problem is and if there is a simple way how do deal with this issue in concrete np. Many thanks in advance!

Hi @crypto_newbie,

The issue originates from the fact that you use np.asarray, and it’s not trivial to support np.asarray. The reason is when you call np.asarray, NumPy creates an array with dtype=object. Whereas tensors in Concrete Numpy are represented with a single tracer. We’re working on improving the operation support, and it might be possible in the future with python tricks, but for now, you can try to use cnp.array([some_encrypted_scalar, another_encrypted_scalar]) instead. It only accept scalars and it can only create vectors, but you should be able to flatten your input, use cnp.array and reshape it to the original shape you had.

Another note, np.dot is supported, but only between and encrypted and a clear value, not between encrypted values yet. Again, this will change in the future. Just wanted to give heads up :slight_smile:

Let us know if you have any more questions!